My Nemesis

I can’t remember where I read it, but I remember reading someone talking about how they couldn’t start writing their story until they had a title for it.

I honestly couldn’t believe it.

The title is the thing I struggle to come up with the entire time I’m writing.  Sometimes not even titling the thing until I’m finished.  And usually, even then, I’m not really satisfied with the title.  I don’t know why, but coming up with a decent title is my biggest writing nemesis.

I’ve read tips on coming up with titles.  Do a play on words, tell about the story, seek help from book & movie titles…  And yet, I always draw a complete blank.

My medical submission was actually titled by a friend, my New Voices submission a sad attempt to connect in the flying aspect of the story (which doesn’t even come into play until the end of chapter 2), and my current query in with Kensington is just plain old dull.

Am I alone in this particular affliction?  Any suggestions on how to defeat my nemesis?

Leave a Reply

