Groove

When I first started trying to write novel-length fiction in middle school, I obviously made a lot of mistakes.  One I can’t seem to live down is a particularly amusing spelling error.

I named the fictional town in my masterpiece Lilac Groove.

Not because I wanted the town to evoke images of a flower getting down or a purple hazed dance, but because I sincerely thought Grove was spelled Groove.

As an English teacher, I have a lot of my students try to tell me spelling isn’t important.  I should know what they’re getting at and, really, the computer is going to catch all their mistakes.  I argue with them, but it falls on deaf ears.

Guess what?  Computers aren’t going to catch Lilac Groove over Lilac Grove.  At least, they don’t have that capacity yet.

Leave a Reply

