Whirlwind

This weekend I spent in a whirlwind of wedding stuff. No, not that wedding. My sister-in-law got married Saturday, which led to a three day marathon of activity. I also managed to take a subbing job on Friday, so I feel like I haven’t had a moment to really relax and regroup.

And holy crap it’s MAY. Can you believe it? I really can’t. This year has been flying by and I literally feel like a whirlwind just plopped me into the middle of my house. I’m just kind of sitting here blinking trying to figure out what’s next?

April went by ridiculously fast for me, probably because it was so busy. But, I accomplished my writing goals once again. Wrote almost every day, submitted another novel, didn’t collapse into a blubbering mess when I didn’t receive any positive writing news. I also feel like I did a little better with keeping my house in order. I’ll never be super clean girl, but I made some progress. And, I read a lot, which was something I’d been neglecting. Overall, April was a positive month for me.

For May:

I want to keep writing everyday. And I want to keep reading.

I’m really hoping to hear back on one of my submissions, but I can’t really control that.

Instead of rushing through my current WIP, I want to take my time with it. So, I’d be happy to be halfway through with it by the end of May, maybe a touch farther.

And, if it should ever stop raining around these parts, I really hope to spend some time outside. Our spring has been cold, gloomy, stormy, and WET. I’m ready for some warmth and sun.

I also want to feel more “on top of things”, so I need to start making lists again like I did when I was on maternity leave. I got so much accomplished last spring & summer because of those lists, but once I went back to work they kind of fell by the wayside. So, time to reinstate that.

How about you? What are your goals for May?

2 thoughts on “Whirlwind

  1. For May, I’m going to finish the first draft of H.F., assuming I keep most of the beach and just rewrite all points after. If I have to rewrite the entire story, I’ll adjust.

    I’m also going to pull out an old ms, read through and see if there’s anything worth salvaging. (Tried that last week with my first ms, the baseball hero, and decided the story is better in my head and the ms is better under my bed.)

    I’m pledging to hit the treadmill at least four times a week, because I realized I can read while I’m working out…so no more excuses!

    And I think that’s about it.

    E

Leave a Reply

