Slice of Life Thursday: The Winter That Wasn’t

I don’t know about where you live, but here in Missouri our normal winter never showed up. We’ve had some cold days, a few flurries of snow, but mainly we’ve had late fall/early spring weather this whole time.

I’m not sure I’m okay with this. It makes me a little wary about spring. Last spring and summer we had a lot of extreme weather in Missouri. We went from rain, rain, rain to tornados, to drought all in the span of a couple months. Besides the obvious impact of tornados on many people in their path, the rain and drought had a big impact on farmers in our area.

We bought a CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) share from a local farm last year, and they told us they had to plant their corn four different times because of the weather. They also had losses in the last summer months because it basically NEVER rained.

I’m a big believer in climate change (sorry, Grandpa) and so I do worry about these extremes we’re seeing. Still, it’s given me some inspiration for my current WIP that I’m calling Country Store WIP. The hero is a farmer, and I think he’s going to have to experience some of that extreme weather we had last year, maybe even a tornado.

3 thoughts on “Slice of Life Thursday: The Winter That Wasn’t

    • You mean you didn’t get the email I wrote in my head, but never mustered the energy to write or send??

      It was kind of an experiment when I was stuck with Georgia & Josh, but it’s working for me, so I think I’m going to stick it out. You’ll get an email about it one of these days. 😉

      • 🙂 Oh I have a lot of those mental emails stored in the big draft folder in my brain. Whenever you get around to filling me in, I look forward to it.
        In the meantime, I need to email you an update on HF.

        E

Leave a comment