Friday Reads: Lucky Harbor Series by Jill Shalvis

Having a toddler and a newborn doesn’t leave a lot of free time in a day, but nursing said new born and owning a Kindle means I do get quite a bit of reading done. I haven’t had the best of luck with my picks, but none have been terrible either.

My favorite reads the past month have been catching up on Jill Shalvis’ Lucky Harbor series. I’d read the first one, Simply Irresistible, a while back and was slightly underwhelmed, but I guess whelmed enough to want to read more. Actually, I really just wanted to read the third one, Head Over Heels because the main character, Chloe, really intrigued me. The second one, The Sweetest Thing, I really wasn’t sold on based on the blurb & excerpt, but I can’t stand to read a series out of order. Of course, I ended up enjoying the second one as much, if not a little more, than the third.

I was also pleased to see there will be more Lucky Harbor books, because I really like the world Shalvis has created. If you like a good contemporary series, I’d recommend these. Especially if you’re a fan of Nora Roberts. Though Shalvis’ voice is very different than Roberts’, I get the same overall feel from them (if that makes sense). Shalvis is a little lighter in tone, but I like them just as well as some of Roberts’ trilogies.

Leave a Reply

