Hero Pet Peeve

I’ve been doing a lot of reading the past few months, and there is a hero trait that is getting increasingly on my nerves: over protectiveness.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I like a protective hero. One who cares about the heroine, or others in the book. Who stands up for the people he cares about. I appreciate a man with a protective instinct.

However…

Overprotective heroes cross a line. I get bothered by a hero who thinks the heroine wont be able to STAY ALIVE without his supervision. To me, that’s not romantic. It’s disrespectful and arrogant. I suppose it’s one thing if the heroine is being chased by criminals and a top FBI Agent wants to keep her in sight, but a normal guy and girl in a contemporary romance? Is that supposed to be appealing? I prefer a hero to think the heroine is at least moderately capable of getting through life on her own wits/merit.

Leave a Reply

